Presentation Preparation & Tips

Ann Macbeth's "The Sleeping Beauty"

Ann Macbeth’s “The Sleeping Beauty”

I’ve been off routine for a few weeks as I recover from surgery to remove my gall bladder, but I’m slowly trying to get back into work mode and first up (you know, other than job letters and putting the finishing touches on my latest chapter) is preparing for my colloquium presentation at the University of St. Thomas in a few weeks.

I’ve been going back and forth on what format I want to use for the visual aspect of my presentation: PowerPoint or Prezi. I’ve never really been a fan of PowerPoints. They always felt a bit unwieldy and in the classroom I’ve found I far prefer using a couple wiki pages that allow for easy transitions and scrolling rather than flipping through slides to return to previous info. However, I’ve never had such a long presentation (~40 minutes of me talking) to plan for, so some kind of visual component is a must and the wiki isn’t going to work.

However, it seems more and more like PowerPoint is rather passé. I can’t guarantee that my Prezi will be anything more amazing than PowerPoint slides would be, but I figure it is still my best choice. There is at least the opportunity for more creativity and to learn more familiarity with a new visual presentation system.

So I’ll conclude this post with a Prezi offering presentation tips which I found helpful. In particular, the information regarding the number of slides (minimum and optimum) for the length of the talk was eye opening. Perhaps I’ll share my Prezi when it’s complete and/or any new Prezi tips I come across as I move through the process.

http://prezi.com/yyqttpipui4h/?utm_campaign=share&utm_medium=copy

http://prezi.com/embed/1vno843ijfdz/?bgcolor=ffffff&lock_to_path=0&autoplay=0&autohide_ctrls=0&features=undefined&disabled_features=undefined

Leave a Reply

